Major League Sailing Forum Index Major League Sailing
A forum for MLS skippers
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


MLS2-1 protest Duffy

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Major League Sailing Forum Index -> Season 01 and 02: Protest, Explanation, Redress
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: 2016-01-19 20:38:00    Post subject: MLS2-1 protest Duffy Reply with quote

In the blue server, on first downwind, Duffy luffed me more than needed and allowed Freja to pass me.
This is to me a team race.
Thanks for having a look.
Regards

Port Noir (Dom)
Back to top
duffy
Guest





PostPosted: 2016-01-20 19:58:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reply:

The phrase ”luff more than needed” is not to be found in ISAF RRS.
The term ”team race” is generally absurd in a fleet race with four teams, and in this specific situation simply not the case.
Therefore I can not see any rules broken by me.


Situation:
Duffy on port tack downwind clear ahead of Port Noir – also on port tack downwind.
Duffy gybes onto starboard tack and thereby establishing overlap to Port Noir who also gybes onto starbard tack – now Duffy is leeward boat and Port Noir is windward boat with overlap, and at this point Duffy starts to luff Port Noir.

As I am changing course during the luffing, I am required by rule 16.1 to give Port Noir room to keep clear, but rule 17 does not apply to me, as I did not established overlap from clear astern.

Therefore I can luff Port Noir untill my HtW (head to wind) within the limits of rule 16.1 for as long as I please without breaking any other rules.

My only objective with the luffing of Port Noir was to regain my free wind, which I was missing while Port Noir was covering me so close.
In the race I was never aware of the effect of my luffing for any other boats (as my only objective was to regain my free wind), but in the replay of the race I can see that my luffing had effect for Henry, Cocal, el Moro, Freja, and maybe for Hjortis.

My luffing was an disadvance for Port Noir and Henry, and an advance for Cocal, el Moro, Freja, and maybe for Hjortis; for this reason it simply gives no meaning to my luffing for ”team race”.

kind regards
DUFFY
Back to top
Spirillen



Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 1140
Location: Danmark

PostPosted: 2016-01-29 20:12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

To assume the Facts, Duffy and Port Noir sailed downwind on starboard, with no overlap.
At 17:59.83, Duffy gibed and Port Noir, decided to gibe on top of him. For any reason, Duffy more look to defend his position by luffing, were he is entitled to, by RRS 11 and luffed him and follow this course for around 34 seconds.
Freja, then was windward to Port Noir.

No RRS broken and neither any Events additional Rules are broken. Protest dismissed and one additional point to Port Noir.

PC for MLS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Major League Sailing Forum Index -> Season 01 and 02: Protest, Explanation, Redress All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Skapa forum | Supportforum | Användarvillkor | Integritetspolicy | Cookiehantering | Kontakta oss |




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Sidan tog 0.04 sekunder att ladda.